Volume VI, Number 1 | March 2022

This inaugural issue of the renewed JAOAO is in honor and memory of Dr. Daniel Morrison, who was Editor of the original journal published in the late 1980’s.  Dr. Morrison’s love of academics was the pure driving force in those years and he nearly single-handedly produced these issues. 

It is my particular honor to follow in his Editor footsteps as he was my trainer (and Program Director) at my orthopedic residency at Garden City Hospital (Michigan).  Read more…


First described by Dr.  Fritz de Quervain in 1895, De Quervain Tenosynovitis is one of the most common pathologies that hand surgeons encounter today. The condition is characterized by thickening of the tendons within the first dorsal compartment of the hand, namely the abductor pollicis longus (APL) and the extensor pollicis brevis (EPB)1. The function of the APL is primarily extension of the thumb metacarpal (not abduction) and the EPB’s function is extension of the MP joint. Read more…







The Journal of the American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics

Steven J. Heithoff, DO, FAOAO

To submit an article to JAOAO

Authors in This Edition

J. Michael Anderson BS, OMS IV
Rigel Bacani BA, BS, OMS II
David Beckett OMS I
Bhakti Chavan MBBS, MPH
Jake Checketts DO
Grant Chudik OMS II
Adam Dann
Marc Davidson MD
Clinton J. Devin MD
Jeffrey Dulik DO
Bryan Dunford BS, OMS II
Diego Galindo DO
Gregory Galvin DO
Curtis Goltz DO

Jordan Grilliot DO
Brian Handal
Safet Hatic
Scott Dean Hodges DO
David Houserman DO
Jenna Jarrell MS IV
Michael Jones DO
Anthony Kamson DO
Tyler Metcalf MS IV
Anna Elisa Muzio DO
Cesar Cornejo Ochoa OMS I
Brandi Palmer MS
Joseph Patrick
David Phillips DO

Jonathan Phillips MD
Kornelis Poelstra MD
Jesse Raszewski DO, MS
Katherine Sage DO
Steven Santanello DO, FAOAO
Jared Scott DO
Julieanne Sees
James Seymour DO
Jonathan Schneider DO
John Alex Sielatycki MD
Benjamin Taylor MD, FAAOS
Trevor Torgerson BS, OMS IV
Phong Truong DO
Matt Vassar PhD